Congress 2019 to critically reflect on new footprint


February 2019

NICO VERMAAK, manager: Corporate Services, Grain SA

The Grain SA Congress for 2019 will be presented at NAMPO Park, Bothaville, on 6 and 7 March. The theme for Congress will be ‘A critical reflection for a new footprint’. The opportunity will be used to consult with South African grain producers regarding challenges in the grain and oilseeds industry.

Keynote speakers
Keynote speakers who will be attending Congress are Mr Malcolm Ferguson (retired ambassador), who will discuss the political and economic environment and Mr Werner Rossouw (Silostrat) who will talk about the grain market environment.

On day two motivational speakers Messrs Alex van den Heever and Renias Mhlongo (two rangers) will address Congress. Day two will also include breakaway sessions for all grain and oilseeds commodities.

Delegates to Congress
Congress is constituted by 374 delegates from 32 regions. The Constitution makes provision for representation on the basis of levies paid per region. The number of delegates per region are amended annually by the calculation of the three-year sliding average of levy payments per region.

Membership fees and the commodity levy are paid annually from 1 March to the end of February, when the financial year for membership fees and levies ends. The status of membership is determined by the payments received until the end of the February that precedes Congress. No payments for membership fees will be accepted on the day of registration for Congress or during Congress.

The current membership fee for commercial members is R1 000 plus VAT, as well as the commodity levy. Enquiries regarding the status of membership can be addressed to Ms Patricia Mahlatsi (administrative officer: Levies, Grain SA) at 086 004 7246.

At the regional meetings before Congress, delegates from the regions are nominated to attend Congress.

Contact Nico Vermaak for any enquiries at 086 004 7246.

Publication: February 2019

Section: Grain SA